What is The County Commission

The Jefferson County Commission is a five member body elected by district Duties of the commission include administration of county funds and custodianship of county property, collection of taxes passed by state law, construction and maintenance of public facilities, maintenance of roads and right of ways, provision of public utilities and services, and making appointments to various boards and agencies.

Commissioner Stephens serves as President of the Jefferson County Commission and presides over all commission meetings. He represents 136,000 residents living in District 3. This includes residents of the Hoover Cut-Off area, Bessemer, McCalla, Adger, Hueytown, Johns, North Johns, Sylvan Springs, Oak Grove, Minor, Helena (Jeff Co.) Maytown, Pleasant Grove, Mulga, West Jefferson, Adamsville, Graysville, Brookside, Corner, Bagley, Cardiff, Mt. Olive and unincorporated areas. This is the largest geographical District of the county.